R6 Message Net banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My friend has a stock gsxr 600 and he can get it to wheelie in 1st gear just by accelerating to about 7000 rpms and letting go and cranking the throttle. I have tried this on my R6 and the wheel comes up about 6 inches. Any comments on how to wheelie??

·
Registered
264 Posts
grow some tentacles, hold on REAL tight, increase your rpms to maybe 8 8.5 should do it for sure and if your maintaining a speed completly close throttle and then go wide open throttle and it'll come up just make sure to cover the rear brake and or clutch if it starts to go back too far, OR you could clutch it up by going along at X engine speed pull the clutch in rev it up to 9 10 or 11 grand and dump the clutch all in rapid succession and it will come up faster but some like it that way

I'm no wheelie expert but either of those ways WILL work on a R6 (what year do you have?)

·
Registered
136 Posts
dude please for one thing dont make it like someones gsxr is better than your bike becuase if not the same your r6 is way better and more reliable and has almost the exact same amount of power . so here is how i did it on my 04 r6

i wouldnt look at the rpm's i would actually look at my speedometer , but in actuality it doesnt really matter. its about the suspension and torque

i would take my bike to about 15-20 miles an hour in 1st gear , then i let go of the throttle then hit it again hard and it comes up.

now if you are a wheelie beginner, id say 6 inches is pretty decent, everyones first wheelie was probably the same or even less,

but want you want to do is get the rear suspension to drop a little by giving it the first initial gas then let go quickly and then quickly before the suspension comes back up hit the gas again hard and then you have a wheelie.