R6 Message Net banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
kaneda!
6,424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
which one do you use and for what purpose? When would you use red loctite? Do you usually cake it onto the thread or use sparingly? Sorry, i'm new to the loctite thing. I also noticed there is the gel type loctite and the loctite that is in a glue stick form. Is there a difference?

·
VSISAPUNKBITCH!
4,499 Posts
red is for the shit you never want to get off again
blue is for stuff you need secured, and need to get off again.

·
Registered
87 Posts
a little loctite goes a long way bro. not sure what bolts you are talking about on your ride, but post it up and we'll help ya out. joe

·
Eli, please ban winter
5,768 Posts
I've used the gel and the stick type and I love the stick type. SO easy to use it's silly. Really easy to just dab it on a bolt, cap it and toss it on the floor till you need it again. Of course the gel isn't hard to use either but the stick makes me feel like I'm in 2nd grade again :lol

·
Registered
345 Posts
tetsuo said:
is red very difficult to take off, once already applied?
It's extremely difficult to crack off a bolt with the red, it's for more 'permanent' applications. If you've got a bolt that you never want to take off again, ever, then use the red. If you've got a bolt that you want to secure but you don't want it to be permanent, then use the blue. Most people will choose blue for a bike since it requires periodic maintenance, for the screws to be unscrewed at some point.

·
Albert Hoffman
767 Posts
Blue threadlocker can be broken easily with tools.
Red threadlocker can be broken using heat, such as a torch.

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
No need to loctite guys... all bolts that have to do with brakes/suspension/steering should be properly "safety wired"... Loc-tite is hack...

·
Dragraces too much
1,641 Posts
Loctite is critical on some things.