R6 Message Net banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm 6'1 190lbs and haven't rode a bike before, but I am planning on taking the MSF class and using all the precautions. I heard things like the engine is too powerful for a beginner and that I'm better off with a 250cc engine. But I also heard that it is a good bike to start off on as well. My whole deal is I'm not looking to break the bike open and max it out at all. I'm a fairly responsible driver and I'm not looking to kill myself by any means. I'm just so attracted to this bike, I was just wondering if you guys will think I'll kill myself if i start out on it.

·
Self-Proclaimed Noob
274 Posts
it's a lot of temptation, i'll say that. I started with my current R6 as my first and I've had a few "whoa shit" moments, but nothing that wouldn't have happened on any other bike. bigger engines require more discipline, control, and restraint to be safe. Just have to be aware that a 600 vs. a 250 means the 6 will react more strongly to any changes in your throttle, so less room for error. Whatever you pick, be safe and ride smart!

·
Registered
25 Posts
About R6 or You

Well... i think it is ok to start with R6, but you have to understand the bike and understand how to ride it. Then you learn how to feel the bike, it sound like riding a horse. Then you know what go wrong.

See or learn how to ride, understand the bike then BEFORE you buy it, if u scare.

Cheers

·
Registered
99 Posts
As said above you will have your oh shit moments but be careful and know the controls of the bike and just get on it and ride. My first bike ever is my 08 R6 and I learned by just getting on it and going. Practice with no cars around like a parking lot. Def. Get the 6 not worth buying a 250 then selling it for another bike. I already want an R1 lol

·
Registered
92 Posts