R6 Message Net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I've been a mechanic for years now and I have always been of the mindset that, if you cannot do a whole oil change, the oil filter should be changed and the oil topped off. I've always thought that running clean oil thru a dirty oil filter is like putting on dirty underwear after you shower.

I had a guy give me the other opinion the other day while he was changin the oil on his race bike (change oil but not filter). I can sorta understand where he's coming from, simply becuz in general the oil is changed much more frequently on a race machine than on a street machien, so the oil filter doesn't have as much time to get clogged and therefore can be left on while just changing out the oil.

What do you guys think? I ask becuz I started using Castrol R4 superbike oil, so I figure I can probably leave the synthetic oil in the crankcase for more than 2k miles as long as I put a fresh filter on the engine. Opinions?

·
Registered
999 Posts
i just payed $50 for 3 quarts of oil and a fuckin filter!!!! Can't believe that shit, $10 filter, 3 quarts mobil 1 mx4t = $40..of course i go to about 5 different places and NO ONE carries the mobil 1, so i go to a rip of dealership and find the mobil 1 sittin there for $13.50 a quart!! Ahhhhh. But yea i change both every time

·
Albert Hoffman
767 Posts
I would think especially on the track you would want to change the oil and filter together because you are running the engine much more aggressively. :confused:

i just payed $50 for 3 quarts of oil and a fuckin filter!!!! Can't believe that shit, $10 filter, 3 quarts mobil 1 mx4t = $40..of course i go to about 5 different places and NO ONE carries the mobil 1, so i go to a rip of dealership and find the mobil 1 sittin there for $13.50 a quart!! Ahhhhh. But yea i change both every time
Maybe you should try some new oil then :thumbup There are plenty of cheaper alternatives out there.

·