R6 Message Net banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im not very good at working on bikes but my 99 R6 is in the shop and they cant seem to fix it. My bike set for a year and the carbs were clogged so i took it to the shop. They cleaned my carbs and syncd them , plugs and coils were replaced, got an oil change and my airfilter was clean. when i got the bike back it was running really rich and missing badly in the lower gears. It missed really bad when i got on the throttle. I took it back to the mechanic and he said the bike needed to be rejetted so they did that and the bike ran fine in the lower gears until i hit the throttle hard and it still was missing and then it started cutting out after 11000 RPMs like that was the rev limiter. I took it back and it was the CDI box that was bad which made my plugs go bad again. He changed the CDI box and changed the plugs again and he just called me and said it seemed like the CDI box went bad again and it was doing the same thing to him. My 99 R6 has a full 2 brothers racing exhaust, a [email protected] airfilter, and a 50 tooth sprocket. I know that the [email protected] is not good for carbuerated bikes but it has had it in there since i bought it and ran fine. I told the mechanic to switch to the stock air filter and he tried it and it was still running crappy. I Hope someone can help because im tired of paying this dude for nothing. Thanx for anyone that helps because im clueless and i want to start riding again.

·
Registered
10,715 Posts
I think you need a new shop.. it sounds like they're just taking your money dude.

Missing and cutting out could be the coils or a vacuum leak from not putting it back together right. How did he test the CDI? Why did you get new coils? It was running fine before, why did it need to be rejetted??

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·