R6 Message Net banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It seems that there are a ton of you with Battery Tenders out there that have the quick-connect hooked up permanently to the bike. For those of you in this boat, did you connect the negative lead of the quick-connect to the negative terminal or did you connect it to a bolt somewhere on the subframe? I ask because since it is a negatively grounded battery, everything I've ever learned about electrical systems says you shouldn't have both quick-connect leads attached to the battery.

Is there any harm or potential harm in hooking both leads to the battery? I believe it even states in the Tender's guide to connect it to a grounded frame/subframe member. What schools of thought are there on this?

Any information/input on this would be greatly appreciated!

·
WTF or ban
88 Posts
I think I went right to the battery on my RD350. I have been using it like that for two years.

The r6 has a BMW electrical port that I made an adaptor for. I plug the battery tender into the port, and it is directly wired to the ground side of the battery.

·
Registered
426 Posts
I've had my quick-connect connected to the -ve terminal for 2 years and no problems. I don't remember the instructions saying not to ground on the -ve:umm . I'm curious now too:shrug .

·
Tochos
997 Posts
I have the instuctions for a dc connection. These are for the "Deltran Battery Tender Junior". I think i paid around 47 dollars for this model.

Step 21 section E reads:
For a negative-grounded vehicle, connect the POSITIVE (RED) clip from the battery charger to the POSITIVE (POS, P +) ungrounded post of battery. Connect the NEGATIVE (BLACK) clip to the vehicle chassis or engine block away from battery. Do not connect the clip to Carburator, fuel lines, or sheet metal body parts. Connect to a heavy gauge metal part of the frame or engine block.