"Double clutching a bike" : Yamaha R6 Forum: R6MessageNet : YZF-R6 Forums

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Yamaha YZF R6 Prices
Go Back   R6Messagenet.com > Sportbike Operation > Riding Tips

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2005, 01:13 AM   #1 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Juke
Juke's Garage
Default "Double clutching a bike"

I am a noob and will be the first to admit it...i was wondering if similar to a car you want to rev match while downshifting? Because there is no neutral between gears other than 1 and 2, i was wondering if it is good or bad to pull the clutch and rev match when shifting from say 3rd to 2nd...feedback appreciated
Juke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-03-2005, 01:58 AM   #2 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to wentouch Send a message via AIM to wentouch Send a message via Yahoo to wentouch
wentouch's Garage

welcome again!

depends on what purpose you are downshifting for. if you are accelerating, rev matching may help to synch the gears at the same rpm for a smoother and more rapid transition, but if you downshifting to slow down, the point is to use the nonsynch gears to lower the rpm by featheriing/ gradually releasing the clutch like in a car, thus rev matching is not necessary.

hope that helps.
Old 08-03-2005, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chase

Send a message via ICQ to Chaseme
Chaseme's Garage

+1
there is no such thing as double clutching (as far as i know) in a motorcycle but there is blipping the throttle, same thing minus going into neutral. This is what is used often in motorcycle racing. And they go one step farther by downshifting and simultaniously brake and blip the throttle to go into a lower gear. Often times if you do not blip the throttle you will get the rear wheel to suddenly lock up. (loosing time or possibly loosing control)